Review of Logan

http://cdn2-www.comingsoon.net/assets/uploads/gallery/untitled-wolverine-sequel/logannewposter.jpg

This was one of the films this year I really wanted to see. I’m only just becoming familiar with the Marvel Comic Book Universe in film as I have for many years been a strong DC supporter. What I enjoyed about it to begin with was the fact you didn’t really need to have a vast knowledge of the previous Xmen films as I could still follow the story.

The plot is set in 2029 and revolves around Logan and Professor Xavier hiding out at the Mexican border. It is shown that Xavier has an unnamed degenerative neurological disease that needs causes him to lose control of his telekinetic powers. This had caused an incident before the start of the film that has lead him to become one of the most wanted mutants. I don’t want to give away too many spoilers, however I will say we do not deserve Patrick Stewart, the man is a very talented actor, but hearing him telling Logan to fuck off within the first 5 minutes of the film made me more giddy than I’d like to admit.

The performances from the whole cast was amazing and the story was written really well, giving us the perfect farewell to Hugh Jackman as Logan/Wolverine but also taking us on the emotional roller coaster that you would expect from a finale for a well known comic book hero (take note DC, I cried more at this than I did when Superman “died”, but also staying loyal to the source material of the “Old Man Logan” story arc.

This entry was posted in reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

