Week 8

This week I watched the footage back of my stand-up, where I felt I picked out too many of my flaws instead of focusing on the performance its self and the positives. I felt I was talking too fast, swaying around like I had some kind of affliction and in general, I felt I just messed up as I forgot a couple of jokes.

I didn’t take into account the fact I got laughs when I wanted and needed them, the fact the audience didn’t know/notice the points I did mess up/forget what I was doing, the overall praise I received at the time, getting told I really should stick with it and getting up and doing it in the first place, which in its self was a huge challenge.

In the critical analysis class we discussed the horror movie genre, which is one of my favorite film genre’s and I enjoyed learning about the origins, beginning with  Gothic Horror novels like Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein and Bram Stoker’s Dracula, the first “horror” film: Haunted Castle, the boom in the 30’s and how the genre has changed overall, encompassing many sub-genres, like found footage, zombie/apocalypse, slasher e.t.c. One thing that I did not like was that “Rubber Johnny” movie that just was pretty messed up and made me uncomfortable.

This entry was posted in journal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

